Beirut Reveals Album Details

SPIN Staff

Zack Condon, Beirut's sole songwriter and constant member, has slated the band's yet-to-be titled follow up to 2006's alt-folk album The Gulag Orkestar for a September release via indie imprint Ba Da Bing, reports. Condon, currently cooped up in a New Mexico recording studio wrapping recording efforts, identified Man Man producer Griffin Rodriguez as the president knob twister while naming Owen Pallet, the Canadian behind Arcade Fire orchestrations and experimental project Final Fantasy, as a collaborator on the record's string arrangements.

"The influences are coming from a different place; it's not heavily a Balkan aesthetic. I was listening to a lot of old French songs, but I'm taking it in my direction," Condon told Of the twelve songs tentatively set for inclusion on the forthcoming record, titles include "A Sunday Smile," "Guyamas Sonora," "Cherbourg," and "In the Mausoleum."

>> Listen to Beirut on Napster

On the Web:

Talk: How do you think Beirut's forthcoming album will sound?

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Paperwhite — Pieces " 03:58
  • 2 Michael Rault — Nothing Means Nothing " 02:56
  • 3 Gold Beach — Impressions " 04:32
  • 4 GENUFLEX — The Last Gods (Mark Stewart And Rambone Remix) " 05:13
  • 5 Sleigh Bells — That Did It Feat. Tink " 02:41
  • 6 Monster Rally & Jay Stone — Recollection " 02:10
  • 7 Little Boots — Pretty Tough " 03:18

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA