Beastie Boys' Upcoming Memoir Hails From Another Dimension, New Galaxy

Random House imprint pencils in "multidimensional" fall 2015 release

The Beastie Boys
The Beastie Boys
Marc Hogan

Rock memoirs have been a booming business lately, with '60s guitar whizzes Keith Richards, Eric Clapton, and Pete Townshend lending their bylines to bestsellers detailing their behind-the-scenes (mis)adventures. The hip-hop memoir has, more quietly, offered itself as a more innovative form: Jay-Z's Decoded, in 2010, didn't dish about the rapper's much-mythologized past so much as deftly break down his rhymes and argue convincingly for them as great art. Now, Spiegel & Grau, the same Random House imprint that printed Jay-Z's book, is set to put out another convention-bucking hip-hop memoir, this time by the Beastie Boys.

As the New York Times reports, the publisher is expected to announce this week that Mike D and Ad-Rock have inked an agreement to publish an as-yet-untitled book, available to be ch-checked out of libraries in fall 2015. With hip-hop journalist Sacha Jenkins on board as an editor, the book will reportedly follow a loose, oral-history format, but with what the Times calls "a strong visual component"; other writers will also contribute. "The first words out of Mike's mouth were, 'I don't want to do a straight memoir,'" the group's agent, Luke Janklow, told the Times. Spiegel & Grau publisher Julie Grau described the planned book as "a multidimensional experience" with "a kaleidoscopic frame of reference."

Janklow, the agent, reportedly said previous discussions of a potential Beastie Boys book went by the wayside as the group's third member, MCA, suffered from cancer. MCA, whose given name was Adam Yauch, died last May. He was 47.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA