Stream Bad Sports' 'Bras' Album, a Filthy Love Letter to '70s New York Punk

Follow-up to 2011's 'Kings of the Weekend' due August 27 via Dirtnap Records

Bad Sports
Bad Sports
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Bad Sports consciously channel the grimy spirit of late 1970s New York City on their upcoming third album, Bras. The Texan garage-punk trio — composed of OBN IIIs' Orville Neeley (guitar/vocals), Daniel Fried (bass/vocals), and Gregory Rutherford (drums) — count vintage CBGB regulars such as the Dictators, the Dead Boys, and Television among the inspiration behind their latest bubble-crud effort. Produced by Mark Ryan and Jeff Burke (of fellow Denton misfits the Marked Men), the 12-track LP also wallows in '50s swoon ("Free Spirit"), celebrates power-pop enthusiasm ("Terrible Place"), and surges with proto-punk grit ("Eddie Bender"). Elsewhere on the record, Bad Sports claim they "don't wanna live a life back in time," but Bras communicates the exact opposite — it's a filthy, broken-down jukebox that doubles as a time machine. Stream it below.

  • Bad Sports — Get You
  • Bad Sports — Washed Up
  • Bad Sports — Nothing In This World
  • Bad Sports — Let Me In
  • Bad Sports — Back In Time
  • Bad Sports — Free Spirit
  • Bad Sports — Eddie Bender
  • Bad Sports — Terrible Place
  • Bad Sports — Hypothetical Girl
  • Bad Sports — Rockin' The Noose
  • Bad Sports — Race To The Bottom
  • Bad Sports — Rick Kid City

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA