Astronautica and Bridge Drop Divine R&Beats on 'Velvet Morning'

Los Angeles producer's 'Waikiki' EP arrives on Alpha Pup this month

Astronautica 'Velvet Morning' Bridge Stream Waikiki
Astronautica, a.k.a. Edrina Martinez, at home in Los Angeles
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Los Angeles producer Edrina Martinez has chosen her nom-de-beats quite well — Astronautica evokes not only outer space exploration, but also those Nautica jackets that went hand-in-hand with the R&B-soundtracked '90s that some of us hold so dear. However, as evidenced by the song below, her music isn't some cheap throwback. Rather, it's part of soul music's in-progress electronic evolution as furthered by folks like Frank Ocean and the trap-minded Wedidit Collective. You'll hear both of those strains in "Velvet Morning," which features a guest vocal from her neighbor Bridge. The track is part of the March 25 Waikiki EP, arriving via Alpha Pup and also including a cameo from JMSN. Pre-order here.

Waikiki EP track list:

1. "Unsure"
2. "How It’s Gonna Be" (feat. JMSN)
3. "Velvet Morning" (feat. Bridge)
4. "Vodka"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA