Art Brut Working with Pixies' Frank Black On New Album

Frank Black / Art Brut's Eddie Argos
Melissa Goldstein

"I'm rubbish with secrets." Art Brut frontman Eddie Argos confessed via his blog [via], before admitting that yes, Art Brut is working with Pixies legend Frank Black on their next album.

"I was thinking about trying to put anybody off that asked me out right if the Pixies legend Frank Black was producing our next album by telling them that they must have misheard and in fact the legendary Pixie Geldof was," he added. "I'm glad I didn't have to stoop that low to hide our secret."

Argos also explained that efforts for the new album are already underway. "[The band has] written about 20 songs. We've been playing quite a few of them live; 'Alcoholics Unanimous,' 'Summer Job,' 'Art Brut Versus Satan,' 'Rebellious Henchman,' 'Moved To LA,' and 'DC Comics And Chocolate Milkshake.' I can't wait to start recording."

Meanwhile, Argos' other band the Glam Chops unveiled their free Christmas download yesterday.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA