Preview Arcade Fire's 'Awful Sound' Ahead of Probable Brooklyn Shows

Montreal indie rockers share 'Reflektor' teaser as posters tease New York gigs

Arcade Fire, Brooklyn,
Oh, inverted Arcade Fire
Marc Hogan

As Arcade Fire's fourth album approaches, the mysterious teasers continue. The Montreal indie-rock heroes are due to release Reflektor on October 29 via North Carolina stalwart Merge Records, but first, a couple of developments.

For one, the band has shared a torturous 30-second clip of "Awful Sound (Oh Eurydice)," the second track on disc two of Reflektor. We wrote, "'Awful Sound' has such intricate detail that it's almost like hearing music in 3D: strings up here and percussion back there and layered keyboard texture in the middle."

For another, Arcade Fire will probably be playing a couple of shows in Brooklyn later this week. No word on venues or other details yet, but fan Twitter account ArcadeFiretube reports the band's management has confirmed the legitimacy of posters advertising Brooklyn gigs by "the Reflektors" on October 18 and October 19. The posters note, "Formal attire or costume mandatory," as was the case in Arcade Fire's similarly pseudonymous Montreal salsa club gig that aired as an NBC concert special. There's no other, more official confirmation, but that's how it has been with the Reflektor run-up all along, so New Yorkers might want to make their weekend plans accordingly.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA