Animal Collective Radio Relaunches With Super Freaky Live Videos

'Centipede Hz' songs get Creators Project treatment

Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Last summer Animal Collective took record promotion into their own hands when they launched "Animal Collective Radio," a website that served as a portal to all things related to the band's 2012 masterstroke Centipede Hz, one of SPIN's best albums of the year. Each member shared a lengthy DJ mix of his own, new songs were debuted, and, eventually, the entire LP was broadcast to much success. The Brooklyn experimentalists stepped away from their station shortly thereafter, but they've just updated it with three new additions: live videos of Hz tracks "Applesauce" (above), "Amanita," and "Moonjock" as performed at New York's Terminal 5 in December with set design assistance from the geniuses at The Creators Project. The mega-freaky footage is enhanced with effects added after the fact, so it's nigh on impossible to tell what's happening at the concert and what was made for the benefit of us watching from home. This makes for an excellent viewing experience worth the wait for that HD load time. Head over to Animal Collective Radio for more.

And: Dive down the wormhole with SPIN's "Animal Collective Centipedia," an exhaustive rundown of the group's myriad musical (and non-musical) influences compiled with assistance from the band.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 3 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 4 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 5 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 6 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 7 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA