Angel Olsen Is Electric on Stormy Stunner 'Stars'

Former folkie continues to turn up for 'Burn Your Fire for No Witness' LP

Angel Olsen 'Stars' Stream Burn Your Fire
Angel Olsen Photo by Zia Anger
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Angel Olsen plugs in for her 2014 album, Burn Your Fire for No Witness. The Missouri-born singer-guitarist wooed the world quietly on last year's Half Way Home, but earlier this month she revealed an electric rebirth via "Forgiven/Forgotten." Her latest song doesn't retreat from that stance — "Stars," shared by Belgian radio show Signaal/Ruis ("Signal/Noise"), finds her darkly resonant quaver ringing out over a stormy soundtrack of fuzzy jangle, humming keys, pounding drums, and rolling bass. Producer John Congleton (Bill Callahan, St. Vincent, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah) assists. Listen below around 5:45 — though, as Stereogum points out, you might as well hear EMA's pretty freaking awesome "Satellite" on the way. And Sharon Van Etten after Olsen, and Belgium's own Pilod after her, and ...

UPDATE: The track prematurely leaked and has been pulled down. We'll re-embed when it become available.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 3 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 4 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 5 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 6 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 7 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA