Angel Haze Name-Drops Green Day in Dark New Track 'Initiation'

MC shares a B-side from her forthcoming 'Dirty Gold' LP

Angel Haze 'Initiation' Dirty Gold Outtake
Angel Haze for "Initiation"
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Angel Haze has let slip an outtake from her forthcoming debut studio album Dirty Gold. Indirectly citing Drake's #YOLO doctrine, she wrote on Twitter, "I'm probably gonna get killed for what I'm about to do. But who cares? One life, right." She then added, "Gonna give you guys something I recorded in January. That didn't make the album. The vocals are raw. So fuck with me on time." The resulting leak is dubbed "Initiation," though it has little to do with the similarly named Latin-spewing Mykki Blanco track shared last month. The production is dark and brooding indeed, but Haze's flow sounds inspired by Kendrick Lamar as she rhymes about pills, faith, and love. Also, she says this, which is kinda weird: "If you on that Boulevard of Broken Dreams then I got that Green Day." 

In related news, the New york-based MC revealed in a later tweet that the album has been done for two weeks. So what's Angel up to now that she's got some free time on her hands?

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Paperwhite — Pieces " 03:58
  • 2 Michael Rault — Nothing Means Nothing " 02:56
  • 3 Gold Beach — Impressions " 04:32
  • 4 GENUFLEX — The Last Gods (Mark Stewart And Rambone Remix) " 05:13
  • 5 Sleigh Bells — That Did It Feat. Tink " 02:41
  • 6 Monster Rally & Jay Stone — Recollection " 02:10
  • 7 Little Boots — Pretty Tough " 03:18

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA