Stream Airstrip's Grimy, 'Nightmare Pop' Debut 'Willing'

The North Carolina foursome's first LP, from top to bottom, in advance of its vinyl release next week on Holidays of Quince

Airstip / Photo by Hannah Trogdon
Airstip / Photo by Hannah Trogdon
Colin Joyce

After the dissolution of Veelee, his promising girl-boy pop duo, Raleigh, North Carolina's Matthew Park set out to start something new. And in recruiting John Crouch and Nick Petersen — who also comprise the rhythm section of black metal lifers Horseback — Park starting developing a blend of garage-ready "nightmare pop" far more sinister and sludgy than the Research Triangle would have expected from him. On the foursome's debut full-length, Willing, '90s-indebted guitar rock signifiers abound. But this time around, they're coated in a film of grime. That's what happens when you have to pick yourself up and dust yourself off.

  • Airstrip — Pleasure Center
  • Airstrip — Middle of Night
  • Airstrip — Bitching Hour
  • Airstrip — Sleepy
  • Airstrip — Happenstance
  • Airstrip — I Hit a Wall
  • Airstrip — So So
  • Airstrip — Angry Bed
  • Airstrip — Magician's Assistant

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Parkay Quarts — Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth " 06:27
  • 2 Digitalism — Second Chance " 04:53
  • 3 Kiesza — Bad Thing Feat. Joey Bada$$ " 03:32
  • 4 Bob Dylan — 900 Miles from My Home " 02:14

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA