Hear Ad-Rock's Heartbreaking Monologue From Future Wife's 'We're Gonna Die'

Beastie Boys member contributes to life-affirming LP based on frontwoman Young Jean Lee's play of the same name

Young Jean Lee w/ Future Wife
Young Jean Lee w/ Future Wife
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

On August 6, acclaimed playwright Young Jean Lee will release We're Gonna Die, the debut album from her band Future Wife. The upcoming LP is based on a cycle of songs and monologues that revolve around failure, misery, disease, and (of course) death. Lee originally debuted the material onstage at Joe's Pub in New York City; the production earned her an OBIE Award and eventually moved to LCT3's Claire Tow Theater at Lincoln Center. Now, Future Wife have reimagined the show as a full-length, one that boasts appearances by Adam "Ad-Rock" Horovitz, Kathleen Hanna, David Byrne, Laurie Anderson, Colin Stetson, Arcade Fire's Sarah Neufeld, and more. 

The opening track, "Uncle John," features Ad-Rock reading a devastating anecdote. Describing the piece in any further detail would spoil it, so scroll down and listen for yourself. 

We're Gonna Die is also returning to LCT3's Claire Tow Theater at Lincoln Center for another engagement running from August 5 to 17. The live show is directed by Paul Lazar, with choreography by Faye Driscoll.

Future Wife — Uncle John (read by Adam Horovitz)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA