Hear 12th Planet's Genre-Jumping Trap Burner 'Paper'

Rising L.A. beatmaker Protohype joins track off forthcoming 'Transition' EP

12th Planet and Protohype
12th Planet and Protohype Photo by Shannon Nehls
Elissa Stolman

12th Planet's musical style seems to be in an almost constant state of change. Over the years, the L.A. bass producer has explored gabber, dubstep, breakbeats, and trap, and his most recent offering finds him shifting gears once again. The aptly named Transition EP, a collaborative effort with rising L.A. beatmaker Protohype, explores a breadth of different influences and tempos, including hip-hop and drum'n'bass, and often within the same track. For example, trap burner "Paper" transforms after every drop; it opens with a half-time swaggering clomp and builds to a neck-jerking house tempo garnished with squealing horns and searing low-end.

Download the slinky banger below, ahead of the EP's official release on September 17 via 12th Planet's label Smog Records. You can also pre-order here.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 3 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 4 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 5 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 6 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 7 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA