Jonny Greenwood to Curate Reggae Compilation

Jonny Greenwood to Curate Reggae Compilation

The Radiohead guitarist's set features tunes from the likes of the Heptones and Lee "Scratch" Perry.

Radiohead’s axe sergeant Jonny Greenwood draws inspiration from a plethora of musical genres, but with the release of Jonny Greenwood Is the Controller, the seminal musician will shower Jah devotees with his taste in reggae. Set to drop March 6 on Trojan/Sanctuary, Jonny Greenwood Is the Controller’s 18 tracks will include songs from the Heptones, Marcia Griffiths, and Lee “Scratch” Perry, among others.

Here’s the tracklisting Jonny Greenwood is the Controller:

1. “Dread Are the Controller” – Linval Thompson
2. “Let Me Down Easy” – Derrick Harriott
3. “I’m Still In Love” – Marcia Aitken
4. “Never Be Ungrateful” – Gregory Isaacs
5. “Bionic Rats” – Lee “Scratch” Perry
6. “Cool Rasta” – The Heptones
7. “Flash Gordon Meets Luke Skywalker” – Scientist & Jammy & The Roots Radics
8. “Black Panta” – Lee “Scratch” Perry & the Upsetters
9. “Fever” – Junior Byles
10. “Beautiful and Dangerous” – Desmond Dekker & the Aces
11. “Dread Dub” (It Dread Out Deh Version) – Lloyd’s All Stars
12. “Gypsy Man” – Marcia Griffiths
13. “A Ruffer Version” – Johnny Clarke & the Aggrovators
14. “Right Road to Dubland (Right Road to Zion Dub)” – The Jahlights
15. “Dreader Locks” – Junior Byles & Lee Perry
16. “This Life Makes Me Wonder” – Delroy Wilson
17. “Clean Race” – Scotty

Talk: Will you pick up Greenwood’s collection of dread rock? COMMENT

On the Web:

Tags Music News